Jacksonville

So long Jacksonville

After 4 months of training the Jacksonville Bank Marathon was suppose to be “the” race. The race where I finally went under 4 hours, and maybe even get to my dream goal. It wasn’t the day. That’s the short version. There’s a long version if you want to see it. To be honest I’m done with the race. I have no regrets about what happened or the decision I made. I was dehydrated to the point of getting sick, something that had not happened since soccer conditioning in high school. I knew my day was done. The weather was bad, and a lot of people had a bad day. I’m not even upset that I couldn’t have a medal. To be honest I really didn’t want one. That’s all I have to say. It’s time to move on.

coming home to puppy snuggles

I don’t know what I want to do next, or even if I want to do a marathon in 2014. The first thing I’ve come up with is a 5k. Short, sweet, and over in about 20 minutes. I’ve had a lot of good races this year. I’ve knocked 4 minutes off of my 10k time, 6 minutes off of my 1/2 marathon time, and 5 minutes off of my marathon time in 2013. I know I have more potential to find, and new PRs to get. Right now I’m taking the week off to get over this head cold that I can’t seem to shake. Then I’ll thing about what I might want to do next year. I have a few ideas, but rest seems to be what my body wants to do the most.

A little post race retail therapy never hurts 🙂

Leave a comment