Do dreams come true?

The timing of things can be very interesting at times. There is a job that I have dreamed about having since I was in middle school about the time I got serious about playing the violin. Yesterday the local musician’s union newsletter arrived announcing a position at that very symphony.

I’ve been mulling it over in my brain for over 24 hours now. Despite the problems that the group has been having I can’t help but wonder at the timing. My studio is so small, and other frustrations with the school make me feel that it’s time to move on from where I teach now. I’ve been doing a bunch of auditions, so I’m use to doing the necessary work at a high level. I’ve been working on getting more jobs with camber groups to play more in front of people, and work on handling any nerves I get for being responsible for my own music. Of course I don’t know if they would even give me a chance to audition, but as one friend said Sunday morning I’ll never know unless I give it a chance.

So, now I have to figure out if I’m brave enough, and strong enough to give myself a chance. I know I’ve come a long way. I can hear the improvement, and I’m understanding my technique more and more over the past couple of months.

4 thoughts on “Do dreams come true?

  1. Wise friend… It’s brave to put it out there, but your friend is quite right. It will never be anything more than a dream if you don’t give it the chance to be more than that. 🙂

  2. Hi there! I stumbled upon your blog, and I’m hooked. I am a fellow violinist on a journey of my own towards bigger and better things. Onward and upward, right?! What a privilege we have of being able to play this most amazing of instruments! Keep up the great work! I look forward to following more of your adventures! I’m in the Knoxville area. You aren’t too far, you might be interested in this: upcoming violin event! I wish you the best in all your endeavors! http://www.music.utk.edu/violinfestival/

Leave a Reply

