Goals

I decided today that I need to practice what I teach. All of my students have goals whether they realize it or not. It might be to learn a piece or master a skill, but it’s still a goal. I like giving them small easy goals. Ones I know they can reach, and attain easily. So why don’t I do this for myself? No wonder I keep emotionally reacting to everything lately. Disappointing auditions, and not being picked for a new teaching job have been dragging me down this week. So, I want to turn it all around.

  1. My marathon training is going really awesome. I can totally see doing a 4 hour marathon. I want to do a 4 hour marathon. Eye on the prize!
  2. Audition #3 is in November. I want to make it to the 2nd round at the very least. This week I want to get all of the excerpts under my fingers, and start getting the details down.
  3. I’ve started journaling after each student’s lesson. I don’t like that my studio has shrunk to 6 students. If I can’t get anyone to observe me then I want to keep a log of what’s happening in each lesson so that I can go back and see what’s happening. Is the student making progress? Do I need to copy something for them? Do I need to make an adjustment?
  4. quiet time everyday. I need to stop all of the crazy running around I do, and take a few minutes to focus to remind myself what’s really important.
  5. clean. This seriously needs to happen or I’m going to go nuts. The laundry must get folded since it can’t do it itself.

I’m hoping this will help me step back, and see things better. Where do I want to go? Am I doing what I need to get there? I want to focus things so that things are more clear. No more emotional reacting!

2 thoughts on “Goals

  1. The journaling after every student, I think, is an excellent idea and one I’ve thought about doing, too. My studio tends to be b/t 30-40 students (right now on the low side), though, so it would eat up a lot of time, and I can’t exactly do that right after the student leaves, since I normally teach back-to-back. Once I’m home, I’m onto other things, and tend to forget about my “ideas”. Sigh. But I think you’re onto something. I know how frustrated you must be; if possible, I would take the small number of students you have as an opportunity to really focus on them, and keeping a record of what they’re doing and what you’re teaching them is a great way of being objective and productive about it. Hope you feel better soon….I know all too well what these slumps feel like:( It WILL get better…

    • I use to have a studio of 20+ so I know what you mean about not having the time. I feel like if I really prove myself, and show that I’m a good teacher I can stand up for myself better with my boss. The only feedback I ever get is that I’m a good teacher or my teaching is impressive. Hopefully looking week to week will help me get out of this slump!

Leave a Reply

