Catching up

So, I missed a few post that I normally do. Sorry about that. Things have been kind of crazy, and I’ve been a little down the past couple of days. So, quick catch up:

The Audition:

I played a pretty decent audition. My solo sounded great! The new violin projected so nicely in the hall I was auditioning in. It really filled the space. The first excerpt was great, and one of my favorites. The second excerpt was the scherzo from Medlesshon’s Midsummer Night’s Dream Overture. I got a bit nervous, but instead of imploding with super bouncey spiccatto I kept it together. I was totally bummed when they announced they were done listening to me. I really got the sense that they weren’t interested in hearing me. And then I heard later that not a single professional was offered a contract! Even the principle 2nd violin position went to a college student from the local university. I smell a plan to have only college kids in that orchestra. Why they advertised in the union newsletter is beyond me, but at least I got an audition experience to build off of for the next one.

Training:

Last week was another base building week. Nothing really big happened other than kick rear over 16 miles on a super hilly route! So far everything is going great, and I’m going to kill my marathon PR in December. Weekly totals: 35 miles of running and 17 miles of biking. This week is a recovery week!

Up Next:
1. Running – It’s back to building, and this time Jeff has added some more challenging runs. It’s 14 weeks till race day. Why does that sound really close already?

2. Tuesday I start the process of getting ready for braces again. Because everyone wants to get spacers four days before they turn 34. I haven’t been able to get dental floss between two of my back teeth for a week. I’m not so excited about this.

3. Auditions – I have two of them this week. I just need my spiccato to get on board, and I should be just fine. It’s nice having only 5 excerpts to get ready.
I’m a little overwhelmed, and a little nervous about this week, but I’m just going to take it a day at a time, and keeping checking things off of the to-do list.

One thought on “Catching up

  1. Bummer about the audition–better luck on the next one! Nothing kills the soul like auditions, but they are a necessary evil in this industry. Just remember it isn’t personal and that all committees are collectively idiots.

Leave a Reply

