Marathon Training – week 4

Holy smokes! Whose brilliant idea was it to do orchestra auditions during marathon training? Oh right… I’m getting to know my snooze button a little too well with 3-4 hours of practicing a day on top of teaching, and training. And to think this Saturday is only the first of 3 auditions I have coming up. It’s going to be a long fall. If you don’t hear from me for a while it’s because I’m trying to pound this into my brain:


So, with that another build week done.

Tuesday’s run:

Plan: 1 hour 20 minute zone 2 run with surges to zone 3 every 20 minutes

Goal: base building

8.2 miles with average pace of 9:42 (much more humid)

Thursday’s Run:

Plan: 1 hour 20 minutes zone 2 run with surges to zone 3 every 20 minutes

Goal: base building

8.02 miles with average pace 9:40 (had to cut this one a little short)

Saturday’s Run:

Plan: 14 mile zone 2 run with surges to zone 3 every 20 minutes

Goal: base building

14 miles in 2:17 with average pace 9:48

Overall it was a really consistent week of training! Monday, Wednesday, and Friday were all strength training days, and Sunday I got in a 15+ mile bike ride for a recovery from Saturday’s long run. I have to say I feel really good so far aside from being tired from all of the stuff I have going on right now. Marathon training is a commitment, as is getting ready for an audition, which is mentally exhausting because you have to be so focused and honest all of the time. Fortunately this week’s training isn’t too much more than what I’ve been doing other than adding a little more distance:

Things were switched around a little bit on the weekend to accommodate my audition. It’s hard enough doing that without a 16 mile run the same day, so we moved that to Sunday for this week. Since next week is a recovery it shouldn’t mess anything up 🙂

3 thoughts on “Marathon Training – week 4

Leave a Reply

