Marathon training – week 3

Behold the coveted recovery week!! Man did I earn this one! What is a recovery week? My coach does two weeks of building, when my mileage is higher, followed by a week of lower mileage so my body can recovery, and boy was my body ready for a recovery week. I have spent a lot of nights up too late watching the Olympics. Couple that with audition prep, and I was a bit wiped out. And then my confidence took a bit of a hit at violin lesson I took to get ready for my audition (ironically the same day I wrote a post on the mental game of auditions. Notice that one hasn’t been posted yet…). By the middle of the week I was falling asleep on the couch by 9:00, but part of that was the beach volleyball, which just couldn’t keep my interest.

So, all three runs this week were exactly the same thing, a fartlek run. A what? Take a breathe, and get out the giggles. Fartlek is sweddish for “speed play.” So, Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday each had a 45 minute run with as many pick-ups as I wanted between 1 – 2 minutes at my 5k pace. Needless to say I’ve discovered that my 5k pace has gotten faster.

Tuesday’s Run:

4.73 miles in 45 minutes. average pace 9:35

pick-up splits: 8:08, 7:49, 8:08, 7:49, 7:48

who doesn’t like a sub-9 pace on the cool down

Wednesday’s Run:

4.67 miles in 45 minutes. average pace: 9:37

pick-up splits: 7:52, 7:48, 7:57, 7:32, 7:52, 7:42

Saturday’s Run:

5 miles in 45 minutes. average pace 9:03

pick-up splits: 7:50, 7:29, 7:15, 7:44, 7:18

who am I? That’s my easy pace?

I have to say I really like fartlek runs. They seem to agree with me. 🙂 Or maybe Saturday’s speediness came from straightening my hair Thursday. So, I washed it and straightened it again. Hey if it works stick with it! I learned a lot about myself as a runner this week. You know you’re on the right track when your coach is bouncing around, and excited while talking about a race 4 months away. The fact that I’m hitting runs with an average pace around 9 minutes a mile already is huge. I’m not sure I can wrap my head around what the final number will be when I cross the finish line, but honestly I’m just going to train, and not worry about that too much right now.

This week we’re back to base training. Excited to see what I can do on these runs!

Leave a Reply

