Marathon Training – week 2

So, this week has been more of the same from the first week. In fact the workouts are identical.

Tuesday’s Run:

Plan: 1 hour 20 minute zone 2 run with surges into zone 3 every 20 minutes

Goal: base building

Thoughts: The nice thing about having the same workouts as the first week is that I already knew I could easily do these. Headed out on the same route that I did last week, and started to wonder if the crazy hills were slowing me down too much. Solid run though. 8.4 miles with average pace 9:52.

Conclusions: things are going well. Nutrition & hydration seem to be spot on.

Thursday’s Run

Plan: 1 hour 20 minute zone 2 run with surges into zone 3 every 20 minutes

Goal: base building

Thoughts: I changed things up, and made a new route up. I was surprised how much I liked it because I thought one road in particular would be super hilly, but it wasn’t bad at all. Definitely going to keep this in the rotation. This was also a pretty awesome run, but I had to remind myself it was just a base run, and not push the pace too much. 8 miles with average pace of 9:30.

Conclusions: Things are still going well.

Saturday’s Run

Plan: 14 miles in zone 2 with surges into zone 3 every 20 minutes

Goal: base building

Thoughts: My legs were a bit stiff for the first couple of miles, but you can’t give up just because you feel different one day. So, I just kept putting one foot in front of the other. This turned out pretty decent. Got some cheers from some friends who drove by on their way home from their race. My garmin gps watch ended up dying 11 miles in, but even though I never realized when it died I had a general idea of how much more I needed to run. I still ran exactly 14 miles after mapping my route! 14 miles with average pace of 9:51.

Strength & Cross training

Monday, Wednesday, and Friday were strength workouts. All of them were solid. Monday & Wednesday were done using my coach’s workout, and Friday was Pilates with Laura. We’re really starting to tackle some of my weak areas, and it’s really helping. Sunday was a nice easy 1 hour bike ride while watching the Olympics.

Mileage: 30 miles running, 16.4 miles biking

This week is a recovery week!!

Leave a Reply

