What do you do?

This is how a typical conversation with someone new goes. “So what do you do?” “I’m a freelance violinist, and violin teacher.” “Really?!” “Yes, really.” “That’s so cool.” Yeah, I’m cool, or crazy depending on who you talk to… I do really love being a violinist. It’s what I’ve wanted to be since the 8th grade. It hasn’t always been easy, and there have been a lot of bumps along the road. At last count I think I’ve relearned to play violin around 4 times now, but now I’m finally getting to a good place. I can actually listen to things I record, and hear the good parts of what I’m doing instead of focusing on the things that are wrong, or negative.

The last question I get is always, “so, are you any good?” I never know how to answer the question. I have two degrees in music, so yes I guess I’m pretty good. But since I mentioned that I feel better about my recordings I have something fun for today. Here’s a little recording of something that I was working on last week, an etude from Rhode number 13, that I passed last week. We were working on phrasing, and connecting sound through the phrase. Basically, matching what I’m playing to what I hear in my head while I’m playing. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “What do you do?

  1. Are you working on any major concerti at the moment? Something that definitely helps me raise the bar on my own playing is listening to violin greats; usually when I think I rock at something, I listen to someone else play it and then I think, “Crap”…and I immediately start improving, lol.

Leave a Reply

