Breakfast Quinoa


One of the things I worried the most about when I switched my diet to natural, un-processed foods was what the heck was I going to eat for breakfast? No diary, no gluten, and no processed foods limited what I thought about breakfast. I was encouraged to think outside of the box when it came to breakfast. Mostly I make egg white onletes, but then I came across the idea of warm quinoa last week for breakfast. Really? Could it possibly be good? Well, thanks to good old Martha Stewart I found out:

Breakfast qunioa:

ingredients:

2 cups of your milk of choice (I used unsweetened almond milk)

1 cup quinoa

3 tablespoons light brown sugar (I prefer a drizzle of agave nectar)

1/8 teaspoon of cinnamon (or more… :-))

1 cup of fresh blueberries, or fruit of your choice

1. Bring milk to a boil, and then add quinoa and return to a boil. Cover and reduce temperature to simmer about 15 minutes or until 3/4 of the milk has been absorbed.

2. Stir in sugar, cinnamon, and fruit. You can either serve directly or continue cooking until the rest of the milk is absorbed, around 8 minutes

Makes 2 cups

Leave a Reply

