New favorites

I got a new toy last week. It was an early birthday present to myself thanks to cashing in reward points

image: Barnes and Noble

So far I love it!! I started off with a free copy of one of my favorite books that came already loaded on the nook “Pride and Prejudice,” and have now moved on “Cutting for Stone.” It’s so easy to ready, and I love the touch interface to flip the pages. I can still highlight things, write notes in books, and bookmark passages. And I got a nice cover, so the nook looks just like a book 🙂

I apparently have developed an obsession with sweet potato fries lately. I completely blame Coach Jeff. He told me they would make a great snack. There’s only one slight problem, it’s really hard to stop eating them! Fortunately they are super easy to make! Pre-heat your oven to 400. Peel and slice the sweet potatoes into the shape you want (wedges, steak fries, etc…), and place in a medium bowl. Add 1 tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil, salt, pepper, and a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice (or more if you’re like me). Toss everything together and place on a baking sheet. Cook for 10 minutes, and then flip and cook until done (they’ll be soft).

I got these fabulous shorts at Lululemon a while back. They’re the speed short, and despite being a little shorter than I’m use to they are fabulous. They don’t ride up at all! I got them along with the groove short for speed workouts, but I think I may wear these for the Savannah Rock-n-Roll Marathon in November. It’s never to early to start thinking about what to wear :-).

So excited about this week!! It’s my favorite week of the whole year. My birthday is later in the week, and I actually get to celebrate for a change since I finish work early enough. Dinner reservations have been made, and a vegan cake is being picked up. Let’s just hope my parents don’t eat the whole thing while I’m in Savannah working this weekend. Yeah, it’s the start of the orchestra season too this week!! And I’m going out to run on the race course while I’m there, but that’s another post 🙂

Leave a Reply

