Savannah Rock-n-Roll marathon: the finish area

So since I’m in Savannah performing with one of my favorite groups, the Savannah Philharmonic, I thought I would try and check out different parts of the course. Today’s scheduled run was for speed intervals, and just a mere 3 blocks from my hotel is Forsyth Park, site of the race finish. Just over a mile will get you all the way around this beautiful park (perfect for interval repeats and avoiding cars, but that’s another post). Plus you get to see some of the beautiful houses that are famous in Savannah. Oh, and it’s flat! Unless you count the bumps in the sidewalks, and then it’s still flat


Welcome to Forsyth Park. After a little jaunt of either 13.1 or 26.2 miles this guy welcomes you to the north end of the park. All you have to do is run down one of these streets (the map is a little fuzzy as to which)


I think the hot pink house adds something extra don’t you? πŸ™‚

And how about a post race concert in the park. This is pretty much perfect for it


And if you go right behind the pavilion you’ll find this little gem


Personally I vote for this as the post race meeting spot… πŸ™‚ I seem to have a thing for fountains on my runs these days.

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone

4 thoughts on “Savannah Rock-n-Roll marathon: the finish area

Leave a Reply

