A pendant to remember

One of my favorite race memories is from finishing the 2009 Nike Women’s Marathon. Instead of the traditional race medal I got a little blue box from Tiffany’s with a beautiful necklace inside to mark the race. I love it, and wear it all the time, something that you can’t really do with traditional race medals. When I finished the Georgia Marathon back in March I knew I wanted to do something to mark not only the occasion, but also the accomplishment of having a good race, and not hitting the wall. Turns out I know the talented, and wonderful Erica Sara through twitter and DailyMile who happens to design, and create jewelry.

Erica, and spent some time chatting, and working through what we would end up creating. I knew I wanted to keep wearing my Tiffany’s necklace, and since I don’t wear a lot of jewelry because of playing the violin for most of the day I also knew that I wanted something that would go with the necklace I already had. We ended up collaborating on what you see above. A simple rectangle made of silver inscribed with “dream, believe” with a stone of hematite embedded (it means “support for hopes, dreams, wishes, and desires. Encourages you to “reach for the sun.” Reminds you that the only limitations that exist are the ones you place on yourself)

I really can’t tell you how much I love it! 😀 It works perfectly with the existing necklace, and holds it’s on all at the same time. It’s just a little something to remind me of what I have already accomplished, and to keep going towards the things I still want to accomplish. It really is perfect!

Leave a Reply

