Overflowing

I have the week off from teaching violin lessons. So, the anal retentive, organized person that I am decided to clean. And by clean, I mean purge. One of the big problems is the over-flowing drawer of dri-fit running clothes for running. I haven’t been able to open the drawer for days.


This small portion of what is in the drawer gives you an idea of the problem. Why wouldn’t the drawer open? There was so much in the drawer that the bottom of the drawer was falling out…

So, what does one do with old dri-fit running gear that you don’t wear anyone? Can you donate it? Recycle? Or just throw it out? These are the burning questions running through my head. Because clearly I have too much! I do love shirts from my races, but many of them are mens sizes, or in the case of my Georgia Marathon/half marathon shirts they don’t fit over my head or have weird sleeves that are like wings. I really only wear a small portion of what I have… And after last summer’s sweat fest I really do need to replace some things.

What’s a girl to do?

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone

7 thoughts on “Overflowing

  1. You can totally donate to thrift stores or an organization like Back on My Feet. If you want to keep the race shirts as souvenirs of a sort, you can make a quilt from them – just keep in mind that the dri-fit fabric will not hold the same as cotton and different brands will stitch differently, so best bet is to applique them to cotton backing first (and dry clean only the finished product). Alternately, you can frame up some of your favorites, maybe in a shadow box with the finisher medal and your bib, or similar such projects.

  2. Oh, totally forgot; on the recycling tip, check with the closest Patagonia retailer; they recycle their shirts and often accept similar fabrics.

  3. big peach also will take running clothes donations. they usually have some sort of outreach program once a quarter to give back to the community here. i wondered about a t-shirt quilt with the dry fit shirts. would it work???

    • It wouldn’t matter if they went through the dryer at that point, although you probably want to do it once before quilting. I’m just not much of a saver, so I can’t decide if I want to keep them, or just donate them…

Leave a Reply

