Is training for this race cursed?

The first thing that came to my mind Monday morning when I could barely run was here we go again. Yes, it Georgia Marathon training once again, and I have training issues. Again…

  • 2008 my 1st marathon. I tripped 15 miles into our 16 mile run and busted my chin, knee, and wrist. Later I would twist my knee. I ran my first marathon having only run 15 miles. Finished in 5:46. All I can say is ouch
  • 2009 because of injuries (again with the twisted knee) I switched from the full to the 1/2 marathon
  • 2010 This time I was smart and registered for the 1/2 marathon. Getting sick wasn’t so helpful. I didn’t really feel ready…

So here we are in 2011. This Saturday was supposed to be an 18 mile run. Yesterday my run was more than a hobble because of a tight muscle that said “no!” I’ve gone from freaking out to being oddly calm. See I have two 20 mile runs built into my training program. So, maybe I take the rest of the week off, and get rid of one of the 20s. Is it the end of the world? No, but it might have felt that way for a little bit yesterday.

On a more exciting note I signed up to run Alaska’s Mayor’s Midnight Sun Marathon in June with Team in Training. I super excited about the people I get to hang out with for 5 months of training. I’m sure I’ll be super exited about the race too, but now all I can think about is how awesome the group is. I keep thinking about how part of the course runs on a gravel tank trail, and single file trail. I want to get these:

Aren’t they pretty?! They are the Newton Terra Momentus Trail Shoe. Do I need new shoes? No, I have 3 perfectly good pairs that I rotate between every week (Newton Motions, Brooks Ravenna, and Vibriam Five Finger Bikilas). Do I really need a pair of trail shoes for Alaska? Probably not, but I want them! I can’t believe how much I want to go try them, and buy a pair. It’s crazy. I don’t need another pair of shoes, but I want these. Of course, I have to get paid before I can even think about getting a new pair of shoes, and then there’s the whole “I can’t run right now” thing. Funny how much I want to shop when I can’t run… I might have also eaten an entire chocolate bar yesterday due to the not being able to run, and other Monday craziness. Hello Tuesday, can we get along? 🙂

Leave a Reply

