I am thankful for: family

I think that everyone will admit that family drives them nuts from time to time. Heck, I’m not any different from anyone else. But lets admit that as much as they drive us nuts sometimes, families are at the heart of you we are. They shape us from knowledge of the past into the crazy people we are today. The dynamic in my family has been changing over the years. Gone is the time when I would come home to rest and be taken care of. Family holidays now mean little in regards to rest for me. In the last four years my role as a daughter has changed into one who now takes care of most things in the house, which includes taking care of many of the things my parents need. Most of the time I’m okay with this, but occasionally it wears on me. Family is important, and someone has to look out for it. And really, I honestly love cooking for the holidays! Really!! As long as someone else does the dishes! So bring on the family. Every single one of them. I love them for all of their quirky ways. They may drive me up the walls, but they are always there. They never leave, and someone has to keep everything real, right? 🙂the whole Gartley clan in San Diego after my Uncle’s memorial service

my brother, dad, mom, sister, and I

Leave a Reply

