I’m freelancing in Savannah this weekend!

I will admit that I was not so excited about my gig yesterday as I am today. Yesterday morning was filled with lots of frustration. For three weeks I waited for an e-mail response that never came. I didn’t know where I was staying. I finally gave up on the e-mail even after sending another (it was finally answered late yesterday afternoon) and started looking for a place to stay in Savannah. All of the group rooms were gone. Strike one. The closest place I could stay and not spend my entire paycheck was the airport, which is at least 25 minutes away from the rehearsal space. Strike two. The room I found was still $100. Strike three. I booked it anyway, partially out of fear that I wouldn’t be able to find anything else at a lower price that wasn’t “questionable.” At first I wasn’t really happy, but then I started thinking about it and things didn’t seem that bad. I kept looking though. Maybe, just maybe I would find something better. Then a couple of my twitter friends suggested looking on hotwire.com. All of the sudden the heavens opened up, a ray a sunshine beamed down, and the angels started singing. Okay not really :), but one of the choices from my search was a 4 star hotel in historic Savannah for only $4 a night more than what my room by the airport was going to be. Major score!!! I’m so excited!! I haven’t spent a weekend in Savannah in who knows how long. I drive through most summers on the way to the beach house my parent’s rent, but I just cruise through without stopping. I keep reminding myself that this is a work trip. I have 4 rehearsals and a concert:

  • rehearsal Thursday 11:00am – 1:30
  • rehearsal Thursday 7:30 – 10:00pm
  • rehearsal Friday 12:30 – 3:30
  • rehearsal Friday 7:00 – 9:00
  • concert Saturday 8:00 – 10:30

Is it just me or are a lot of these schedule during prime eating times? ๐Ÿ™‚ I have a couple of goals for myself:

  1. play my best
  2. relax
  3. enjoy local food spots (avoid Starbucks :p)
  4. go for a run & enjoy the local gardens

Since I have a room to myself I can also practice during breaks because the audition is getting closer and closer. Good news is that things for the audition are going really well now (I guess I just needed to hit the bottom). I need to keep the momentum going! But, I’m still going to enjoy myself some too ๐Ÿ™‚

Have any restaurant or running suggestions for Savannah? I would love to hear them!

3 thoughts on “I’m freelancing in Savannah this weekend!

  1. Oooo!!!!! I LOVE Savannah! It's on my list of places that would be nice to return to and retire in – you know…forever from now. ;)For a fabulous fatty but amazing breakfast check out Harris Bakery. It's downtown off of Liberty on a side street.If you want to spend a paycheck, you could do dinner at the Sapphire Grill (located next to Paula Dean's restaurant). I think the bartender's name is Mike and he makes AMAZING cocktails. And the food is COMPLETELY worth the money.I used to do laps around Daffin Park, but Forsyth park during the day is cool, too. And pretty much any lap around historic downtown is bound to be pretty. :)Have fun and break a leg!

Leave a Reply

